Deaf Football Federation of Kenya

DFFK Names Provisional Women’s Team for Brazil Summer Deaflympics

Deaf Football Federation of Kenya Names Provisional Women’s Team for Brazil Summer Deaflympics

Kakamega, Kenya, March 5, 2022: Thirty-five players have been selected to begin training for the Summer Deaflympics scheduled for May 1-15, 2022 in Caxias Do Sul, in Brazil. A panel of four coaches; Ben Omukuba (national women’s deaf team coach), Martha Mumbua, Sabina Gicuku and Hassan Hussein spearheaded the selection during the 2nd national Deaf Women Football Championship cum national trials held at Masinde Muliro University of Science and Technology and Bukhungu Stadium in Kakamega County. St Angela were crowned champions of the eight-team tournament after a 1-0 win against Kids, while Flamingo beat Kamanda 1-0 in the third play-off. On their way to the finals, Angela edged out Kamanda 1-0 while Kids defeated Flamingo 4-0 on post-match penalties after both teams played to a barren draw in regulation time. Deaf Football Federation of Kenya President Stephen Waweru termed the two-day event a success saying the provisional team is expected to report to training camp later this month. Only 23 players will make the cut for the Brazil outing. Mr. Waweru appealed to corporates to partner with the federation to implement more programs. The Deaf football women’s team earned a direct ticket to the 24th Deaflympiad after their would-be opponents Ghana and Zanzibar failed to turn up for the qualification tournament at the Moi International Sports Centre Kasarani, Nairobi last year.

Deaf football provisional women’s team

Emmaculate Awino, Ether Wambui, Selina Alivitsa, Amina Sanda, Monica Lauzi, Lucy Kawera, Sharon Lunda, Diana Joyce, Mary Njeri, Zaituni Abdi, Vinancia Akinyi, Lucy Musyoka, Emmy Sastike, Josephine Kwamboka, Aringun Mading, Emily Adhiambo, Emma Wawira, Anne Loki, Ann Bake, Esther Musyoka, Selina Miding, Dorothy Mark, Winnie Cherono, Linda Adhiambo, Joyce Mala, Anne Oting, Monica Agure, Aisha Mohammed, Lydia Akoth, Cathrine Ngovi, Mary Wafula, Pamela Maranga, Patricia Atieno and Morline Juma.


More Posts

Send Us A Message